What is Culture?

When given this brief, I wasn’t quite sure what the definition of Culture was. I think it’s needed for me to find out what it means before I actually start shooting. The dictionary left me with this,

“Culture is the characteristics of a particular group of people, defined by everything from language, religion, cuisine, social habits, music and arts. Today, in the United States as in other countries populated largely by immigrants, the culture is influenced by the many groups of people that now make up the country.”

From this I identify that culture is a group of people who have a certain characteristic which is different to others. This can be a subculture or a norm of society. There are many directions I can take this in as there are various different characteristics. Punks, Emos, geeks, populars, thugs or metal head. I will begin my research by finding photographers that will give me inspiration into this aspect.

Zimmermann, K. (July 09, 2012) LiveScience Contributor [online] available from http://www.livescience.com/21478-what-is-culture-definition-of-culture.html [13/11/2014]

