Ageing Population Idea

In regards to my last blog post, explain my ideas for this task. I developed an idea that ‘children are maturing faster’. I have decided to look more into this idea and brainstormed everything which was in my head, to help me encounter more topics within this theme.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 14.58.48Throughout this brainstorm I began to think outside of the box. I looked at the different types a generations and thought about why they are not happy being the age they are.

I started with the elderly. Sometimes we neglect the elderly, we think putting them in a home is the best thing for them, and then we sometimes forget that they are there. Coming from a elderly persons perspective, I can’t imagine how they must be feeling when they have lived their lives to the fullest, and now they can’t look after themselves. I’d hate to be in a care home and have the young looking after me. I can just imagine them watching their carers and thinking, “I used to be able to do that”, or “Why can’t I be able to do that now?”. This is why I believe this idea could be an interesting body of work. As it shows awareness of the elderly and how they are feeling.

I then looked at Children. When I was a child, my annoying older brothers always used to tell me to ‘grow up’ and grow out of all the children programmes I used to watch. This played a use effect on my life because I saw them as role models. My older brothers seemed so cool just because they were older than me. I’m sure I’m not the only one to think this. Whether its with parents or celebrities, we always want to be older.

Teenagers. Within a teenagers life, comes hormones, heartbreaks and over the top, dramatic arguments. Teenagers become under the influence of many different aspects of society. As a young teenager, to be cool is to have the newest equipment and gadgets. Either it being the new iPhone or MP3 player, or video games. This also contains many of the social medias, like Facebook, Twitter and many more online communication websites that the youngsters are fascinated with. I believe that video games play a huge part in a teenagers development stage of their life. This is due to the age restriction on each game they play. Let’s not lie to each other and say we actually obeyed by the age rule, even watching films. Especially with films, showing scenes such ad violence and sexual activity that is too delicate for a teenagers eyes. This may be the reason as to why there is an increase in teenage pregnancies and teenage violence and bullying. Girls want to look older. As an eighteen year old woman now, I can say that I starting wearing makeup at fourteen. This was because I saw models on television and wanted to be like them. A spot would be a near death experience. So the pressure to be perfect grow stronger into my mid teens.

From this spider diagram, I want to look into teenagers as I have more ideas and bridges to cross. I made another spider diagram to narrow down my ideas.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 14.59.42

When looking more direct at teenagers, I discovered that disorders are more common with this age group. Such as eating disorders. Looking at Victoria Secret Models with the perfect abs and boobs, every teenage girl inspires to look like this. To achieve the dream look, some may gain eating disorders to help them look skinnier etc. Pressuring them to look perfect.

