Banksy – Google Maps Shoot

Banksy is my all time favourite artist so I am very excited to be researching him for my project. I began to think about his work and how I can incorporate it with my images. I thought that it will be a struggle for me to try and view his work physically in front of me because his work is produced worldwide, and it is still uncertain if the images are still existing in the locations where is it noted that he has painted them in. Therefore I thought Streetview was an excellent medium to use to help me gain some inspiration. On google street view I went on the roads in which Banksy’s work is known to be and I came up with these images. Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 20.20.32 Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 20.24.16 Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 20.36.12

After this shoot, I couldn’t believe how difficult it is to find some. Banksy likes to paint in very secure places. It is surprising that he decided to paint in normal, non busy roads in oppose to roads in which everyone is going to visit. Pictures online of his work in comparison to the artwork I’ve taken on street view is a lot different. On street view it is a lot run down and worn. Also, painters and other graffiti artists have made their mark beside his artwork, probably to gain publicity. I enjoyed looking for his work and experiencing the different areas where it is. To further my research, I will be looking at different street artists which relates to his work and whom are inspired by him.

