152MC – Experiment Shoot

Date of Shoot –  25/04/2015

With this module it is required that we have to work within the brief of a narrative. In what I initially thought, narrative is documenting something with a story. So for my first experiment I want to document something which was simple, so that it can become more complex with research and development of ideas. For this shoot I took pictures of on top of a tree, capturing what the sky looked like also. This tree is right outside my bedroom so it was very convenient for me. I took a picture every time I looked out of my window and saw that the weather had changed. The images shown are in order of which I took each photo, to show how much the weather changed throughout the day. This is similar to my idea of taking a picture of a location at different times of the day. You could say this is a very simple location and I’ve take pictures of the same thing, but at different times of the day. Just documenting how the lighting has changed. I like this idea but the location I have used in this shoot is too simple, and I want to go further. This shoot is just something I thought of on the stop that will help me identify how my next series of shoots will look like. I thought this shoot worked well but it was very time consuming. I had to stay in my room for most parts of the day to see if something had changed. This is something that I hated as I’m not the person to want to stay indoors all day. Something I would changed about this shoot is that I didn’t document the times in which I took each picture. This would help me with my future shoot as it would told me what the lighting looked like during periods of the day. Also I did not use a tripod, this would help me line up the tree in the same angle on each picture. I also noticed that when the sky was of a dull colour, like a dark cloud, the tree came up greener than other pictures. Also when the sky was bright blue, you can see the silhouette of the tree. This can be also due to where the sun was and what angle it was coming from. As this is an experimental shoot, this didn’t matter to me that much, but this is something I want to point out to my future self when shooting something more interesting.

DSC_0238 DSC_0277 DSC_0278 DSC_0279 DSC_0280 DSC_0281 DSC_0282 DSC_0283DSC_0284DSC_0285DSC_0286DSC_0289

DSC_0290DSC_0291DSC_0292

