152MC – Audio CD

My inspiration pack from the start of this module contained an audio CD, which included sound tracks which my lecturer had put on himself. My lecturers intention for this was to give the class an idea on how to produce a narrative body of work. Once I played the CD out loud, I knew some of the tracks which was on it, but most of them I’d never heard of. So I Shazammed each tune to find out their title. The music wasn’t connected to each other by theme or genre. This gave me more ideas within the narrative task as the music told different stories and meaning. The following songs were on the CD,

Elektro Kardiogramm – Kraftwerk

Bunny Club – Polly Scattergood

Hljómalind – Sigur Rós

Stumble Then Rise On Some Awkward Morning – Silver Mt Zio

He Gets That From Me – Reba McEntire

Up To The Mountain (MLK Song) – Patty Griffin

4’33 – John Cage

Pass In Time – Beth Orton

River – Joni Mitchell

Brick – Ben Folds Five

Everything Is Borrowed – The Streets

Cast No Shadow – Oasis

The soundtrack that got me thinking and one that is related very much to my project was 4’33 by John Cage. This track is absolutely silent. Why has the artist made his track silent and for what intentions. I believe it is to try and experience the noises around us. Everyone will experience a different meaning to this piece. I will be researching into this track more into a different blog post as I think it can lead onto something more.

