152MC – Finalised Idea

From doing two ideas at once, I thought now is the time I need to pick one and stick to it. Therefore, I’ve decided to carry on with this project with my deaf idea. I can go in many different directions with this body of work and I believe I will enjoy it. As this project is very close to me, I can get greater motivation and interest into the theme. I want to experiment and get to know how my parents and family experience being deaf. Also I want to get my other family members involved. Such as how my grandparents brought up a deaf daughter without being deaf themselves. I am very excited to continue with this project.

There is a very big debate in which people are unsure wether deafness is a disability or not. I am a daughter of deaf parents and I believe that deafness is a disability. I have to help my parent in many different ways, such as answering the door and telephone. I remember when I was younger and I had to call the estate agents because my parents are unable to. That was something I was very scared to do when I was around 5 years of age. In some ways, it has gave me confidence to talk to adults and having two adults depend on me. I want to give my story in another blog post to express how I feel having deaf parents and how it has effected my childhood.

