152MC – Deaf People Hears Sound for the First Time

I typed ‘Deafness’ into Youtube to help me gather more research about the deaf community and a lot of videos like the above appeared. The video didn’t interest me as much as the comments did. These are some of the screenshots from the comments that were relevant to my project.

Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.28.30 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.28.50 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.29.37 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.30.00 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.30.33 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.30.59 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.31.14 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 15.31.32

In the comments there were a lot of views about God and Christianity. I want to research a bit more into this. I want to find out if deaf people blame their ‘disability’ on God or science. How do people become deaf and how are people born deaf in the first place. This will help me have a clearer mind with this debate. In other comments people didn’t understand how the deaf can be fluent speaking when they can’t hear themselves or others. Maybe this is a question to ask a deaf person themselves and see how they are brought up to understand how to speak. The main comment that struck me and interested me a lot was this conversation,

How can anyone give this a thumbs down?

They thinks its wrong, just look up “the big D”

‘The Big D’ will be something I will be looking into, as I can get different opinions on deafness.

Another thing that interested in the comments was this, ‘There are lots of deaf people people who are content in and among their culture. Sign is not a language, it is a culture. And worldwide too.’ In my opinion I think this statement is wrong, as I believe that deafness is just a way that someone communicates with another. Just as if someone were Italian and speaking italian. Deafness is just a title for their language. The statement explains that deafness is a culture, which I believe it is. Deafness is a different way of living.

