152MC – Controlling Light

Before this module, I never really used the studio for my projects, as i’ve never had the opportunity/confidence to. I’m not very confident setting up the equipment in the studio by myself. Normally, I shoot my photographs in the locations which are related to the photos, avoiding the studio completely. However for this assignment, I want to come out of my comfort zone and come out of my bubble of knowledge that I already know. I feel I know enough for me to get into the studio and just start taking photos. From the amount of studio lighting workshops that my lecturers have taught me, I think the techniques will come in useful to help me photographs look more professional. Other than that, I can control the lighting as I want it to be. Lighting can change the mood of the photograph instantly, which will affect the overall images intentions. I feel as if my project could use the studio for bringing out different lighting techniques. From my experimental shoot which I blogged out, I got used to the lighting which was already in the studio. Some of the pictures I produced were too bright and some were too dark, then changing the light balance, position of the light and the amount of power that the light brings on the subject. The pictures below are the different lighting that I used and try to overcome.

Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 17.26.08 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 17.25.53 Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 17.25.41

From working in the studio I’ve learnt how to overcome some issues that came my way. For example, when looking back at my images while in the studio, I decided that I no longer wanted a shadow on my background. I made my model step forward which allowed the shadow to be out of shot. However, when this happened the model was closer to the light source, which made his face become too bright and washed out. So I turned the power down on the light to make the lighting softer. Which then made the picture a whole lot better. I am glad that I took the opportunity to work in the studio, as its given me confidence to use the studio in the future.

