152MC – Is Alison Disabled?

These pictures are not going to be in my final book, but I thought it was an interesting and debatable topic. As I’ve found out through research, some countries believe that deafness is a disability and some people do. I believe, like many others, that deafness is not a disability. It probably is in definition, but living with two deaf parents my whole life, I believe they are capable to go out their daily life without the help of anyone. The pictures shown are images I took of a diability bus pass that Alison owns. Personally, I don’t think its fair for deaf people to get a free bus pass. This is because, they are able to drive or use any other type of transport. I don’t understand how a disability bus pass would aid someone who is deaf. Both my parents can drive and have been driving since they were teenagers. I just don’t understand!

I went on the website which explains how anyone is eligible to receive a free bus pass, and this is what the website looked like, Screen Shot 2015-05-22 at 14.06.57

On the page it shows categories which people have to come under to get a free disability bus pass. Here is that list,

-Receive disability-related benefits, including Personal Independence Payments
-Are registered as deaf or use a hearing aid
-Are registered as visually impaired
-Have epilepsy

What I found interesting was deafness came as a separate category as receiving disability related benefits. Therefore, is deafness really a disability. This is something I’m still confused with but interesting to read. Here are some of the still life images that I took to show Alison’s disability pass.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 15.09.08 Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 15.09.15 Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 15.09.24 Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 15.09.30 Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 15.09.36

