152MC – Sequencing My Images

Now that I have printed the pictures which will be in my final book, I need to think about the order. From my sequencing lecture I had a while ago, I thought this process would be easier than I thought. It is a lot harder to sequence your own work than other peoples. As I have not made a book for my finishing product for my last two modules, this is a different experience for me.

Before starting I needed to think about the different styles of photobooks. I had a lecture on phonebooks and the many different styles which are contained in them. Such as, Flat, Arc, Cluster and scatter. By getting to know what each of them meant, allowed me to identify which style will suit my work and what was my message that I wanted to bring forward. I believe that scatter was best suited for my project. A scattered style book gives my viewer the freedom to look for the narrative themselves. While doing so, they maybe will create their own narrative. I think this style will be most effective for my project as I don’t want my audience to know what the book is about before the hints which will be contained in the images.  I have decided to have the old archive images at the beginning of the book, because the audience is unaware that Alison is deaf. Then as the book develops, the images will give hints to the narrative. Allowing the reader to realise the story at the end of the book. This is a very difficult thing to pull of with any set of images in a photobook. It will be most satisfying if this aim is successful. However, I am going to prepare some other styles of photobooks. For me to experiment and to see which style will work best. Which may create a stronger and secure body of work.

As some of my images are in colour and black and white, I need to think about how this will fit into my photobook. As it was not in my control to have the archives in black and white, I could change all of the images to black and white. However, I thought having colour would represent the movement in time. Showing that there is a narrative in the book. Allowing the reader to identify which images are older and newer. Therefore, I will have the black and white images at the start of the book, and have the colour ones to the end. However, I have also thought about having it the other way round. If I choose to have the newer images at the start of the book, the audience will know that Alison is deaf straight away. Then they will see that she has lead a normal life despite of her disability. This is something for me to experiment with a play around.

I have decided to put some text in my body of work. I didn’t want my pictures to be too random, and I wanted the audience to realise what they are reading. So I’ve included the Story which Alison gave me. I believe that It’s only fair that I include this. This book is about Alisons life, therefore, the words should come from herself. The positioning of the text is what I am unsure with. Placing it at the front, middle of at the back will be something I have to experiment with.

By sequencing my images, it made me realise how important each picture plays with my body of work. It doesn’t matter if an image is pretty or ugly, it needs to fit with the narrative that the book is bringing in order for the body of work to be successful. I made two mock up sequences as I believed the other styles didn’t fit with my style of work.

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 23.21.42

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 23.22.47

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 23.24.28

