152MC – Text In Action

I have planned to include text in my final book. However, from my workshop that I did in a lecture I had, I thought about having no text in the book at all. However, I need to think about audience knowledge, and what will my book mean to someone who is unaware of the research and story behind it. Although I don’t want to be too literal with my work, I want the reader to have some idea what the project is about at the beginning of the book. I have read many photobooks which have text to illustrate each image. I don’t want to have text with every image, as it can be a bit like a children’s book. I want my audience to visually see the story which the story is telling. While thinking of what text to include into my book, I am looking back on the blog post I did on John Duncan’s Tree’s from Germany. John included text at the beginning of the book, which tells the reader a bit about the book itself and the images within. I want to do something like this with my book. I was thinking about including the story which Alison gave. As it can highlight her life in a summery. The story includes what she feels about being deaf and points out the issues which have come her way because of her deafness. My main issue about this is where is the text going to be.

Front – Putting the text at the front of the book will tell the audience straight away what they are about to see. Telling them what the narrative is and who is the book about. However, it doesn’t let the audience find out for themselves. I want each reader to get their own story with this book. With John Duncan’s Trees of Germany, there was text at the front, this worked for the book, as it allowed the audience to gain knowledge of the book. However, with my book it is a bit self explanatory. The audience will know that the photos are following one woman, as she is all most of the images. I want my audience to make their own story to the book. This will make everyone go away with something different. This is the reason why I will not put the text at the beginning of the book.

Middle – I’ve thought about having the story in the middle of the book. A lot of my images that will be in the book are old images from when Alison was little. In these pictures, the audience would not be aware that Alison is deaf. This is what I was to bring to my readers head. As the aim of my project is to tell everyone that deafness is not an issue which is stopping deaf people from doing what they want to do with their life. I was thinking about putting the text after the archive images. Therefore, the audience will now know that they will be looking at images of a hearing aid and other deaf related images. Then the audience will understand what the book is about.

Back – Having the text at the back of the book will make the audience unaware of what the narrative is about throughout the book until the very end. I do think this idea is effective because it will direct their mind in the right place. Before the text, the viewer would have thought their own opinions of the story and women who will appear in each picture.

