CCI – Project Proposal

Project Proposal – Community Culture and Identity.

PROJECT OUTLINE

For this task, I want to bring my strengths and interests to the table, as this will help me with my motivation. I want to produce a body of work where I can look back on and say that I enjoyed myself. As the brief is so broad, I can do anything I wish, as long as it relates to the maps provided. I am very interested in architecture photography, fashion photography, how humans interact to the environment.

I wanted to go into the Coventry History Museum, to give me some inspiration for an idea, which can relate to the sites listed to me. When I was there, it gave me a lot of information about things I already knew, however, it reminded me of what I can bring to this task. I took some images of the things, which interested me, the most, and the things that brought ideas to my head.

Idea 1

There was a section in the museum that talked how nearly everyone in medieval Coventry times was a Catholic, and people had no doubt that God didn’t exist. This led onto me looking at the Cathedral. Alongside this information, the noticeboard showed a map of all the different religious houses, which was built in the 1450’s. It would be very interesting to go visit these places and see what they are like currently. As I’ve grown up attending Catholic schools, I believe I have some background knowledge that I can bring forward, as well as teach me information, which I currently not know of. I want to stick to catholic churches in Coventry, which were built in 1650. As this was the same time as Coventry Cathedral was built. As I enjoy photographing architecture, I want to photograph the churches, as it will be more interesting for me. I want to look at how they are structured and built. As well as how people interact with these churches. I know that almost every time I walk past Coventry cathedral, I find people taking photographs of its beautiful architecture, however, do they know exactly what happened to the cathedral?

I searched into Google maps to find all the different catholic churches in Coventry, where I can go to take some photographs. This already gives me some ideas and locations of buildings, which I can find interesting architecture.

The display board in the Coventry Museum showed me a map of all the religious houses in Coventry. Therefore I am going to Google map most of them, and see if they are still there and if they can be featured in my project.

When looking on google maps for each church in the locations, it was very easy. Therefore finding the locations in person would be easier. I do recognize some of the locations, which has given me an insight on what these buildings are, and what they represent. Also, I will look for archive of these locations online/through the library. Then photographing my response to the archives I find.

When researching into photographers that take pictures of churches, I came across, Matthew Christopher. He photographs abandoned places that were once stood churches. They are all located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. His images show an abstract vision of what these churches used to look like, and what they are like now.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2685928/Philadephias-crumbling-churches-Photographer-used-beautiful-pictures-abandoned-places-worship-raise-45-000-restoration-projects.html

I find the abstract style to this body of work very effective. The use of two different images into one makes a more interesting narrative. This is something that I want to bring to my photography. I have done something like this for my ‘response to my personal achieves’. Which will be interesting to relate to this theme/subject.

My audience for this piece can be absolutely anyone. Going to church is more a tradition way of worship. I believe it is becoming a less common place to visit, and in a few hundred years time, churches may be become extinct. Hopefully my project will bring people together and give people the opportunity to explore the churches and discover new things about Coventry, which they didn’t know before.

As I live in Coventry, I will have easy access to all the churches, as they are walking distance from each other. I believe this idea will give me a lot to start with. Once I discover new churches, new ideas and styles will come to me, and my idea will progress further.

Idea 2

Still relating to my first idea, I want to experiment and with different textures of building, and creating an artistic style to it. I have done something like this before, when doing work on graffiti, pictures shown below,

I would love to do something like this again, as it became very interesting to me. With this idea I want to show the different textures between the old and new buildings. Coventry Cathedral would be perfect for this as it was built in 1918, I can compare it to other newer buildings, which have more up to date building materials. I would mainly use a macro lens for these shoots, as they will give me much more detail. This idea goes well with my interest in architecture photography. In photos, I like showing structure and shape, and I can bring this out in this theme.

An artist uses this theme for his work is art is, Ian Murphy. His paintings show that he uses the simplest sights, but represents them in a different light. This is what I want to achieve, bring out an interesting piece of art that we are use to seeing, but go unnoticed.

I can research into the different materials made by each house, and find out when buildings were built. I believe this is my strongest idea, as I will be more into it when I start. My audience for this idea would be anyone also. I want to make awareness of how fascinating and beautiful, an old building can look.

With both of these ideas, I am going to be focusing on the Coventry Cathedral, and venturing out to explore other churches in Coventry. The churches in Coventry are the only buildings that seem to be left and not demolished/refurnished. I want to find the reasoning for this, as Coventry is improving dramatically.

With the locations we were given with the brief, I have decided to go ahead and start with Coventry Cathedral. As I started my research in the Herbert, this led me to look into churches. Starting with the Coventry Ruins, then going to different locations.

I could combine both projects together, as the final images may be the same thing. The images could include both up close images, as well as how the building stands. I want to first experiment with the different photographs I could take. Going to each location and se what is there.

At the end of this body of work, I want to present my work in a book. I believe a book would be an appropriate medium to present this body of work, because it can show everything at once. I have only created a book once before, which I enjoyed. I want to create a book, which will be available for everyone. (Online and physically). Also, as this task relies on me to photograph old buildings, I want to make a book to stick to the theme of tradition. Books are a very old fashioned medium, so therefore, it can relate to my project.

SKILLS AND RESOURCE REQUIREMENTS

Idea 1 – For this theme, I need to do a lot of research into the historic churches in Coventry. Already from going into Coventry Museum, showed me a map of all the religious houses. So this will be my starting point. From there I will go onto the churches of Coventry, to see if they still exist, and if not, what is currently there. This task needs to be organized, as I need to fit in everything in the time span of this module. Therefore I need my organizational skills to be of a high standard if I want to do well.

Idea 2 – For this theme, I need the right equipment and know how to use it. I have only used the basic of macro lenses but for this task, I want to bring every detail into my images. Therefore, I would need to watch tutorials online to help me gain knowledge on how to use the correct equipment accurately. As like task 1, I need to find historic buildings, to compare materials. This may be relatively easy, but as sticking to a theme of churches, this may limit me.

TIMETABLE

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
        4th March

DEADLINE

22ND FEB

WORK ON FINISHING TOUCHES

23ST FEB

WORK ON FINISHING TOUCHES

24TH FEB

ASK ANY QUESTIONS IF NEEDED

25TH FEB

LOOK OVER PROJECT

26TH FEB

LOOK OVER PROJECT

15TH FEB

PRINTING WEEK

16TH FEB

PRINTING WEEK

17TH FEB

PRINTING WEEK

18TH FEB

PRINTING WEEK

19TH FEB

PRINTING WEEK

8TH FEB

HOW TO PRESENT IMAGES?

9TH FEB

USE DIFFERENT DISPLAY METHODS

10TH FEB

USE DIFFERENT DISPLAY METHODS

11TH FEB

USE DIFFERENT DISPLAY METHODS

12TH FEB

FINALISE IMAGES

1ST FEB

FINAL SHOOT

2ND FEB

FINAL SHOOT

3RD FEB

RESEARCH

4TH FEB

RESEARCH

5TH FEB

RESEARCH

25TH JAN

GO TO DIFFERENT LOCATION

26TH JAN

RESEARCH INTO DIFFERENT LOCATION

27TH JAN

HAVE A TUTORIAL WITH LECTURER

28TH JAN

HAVE A LOOK BACK ON PROJECT

29TH JAN

RESEARCH INTO NEW LOCATION

18TH JAN

SHOOT

19TH JAN

GATHER IMAGES

20TH JAN

RESEARCH

21ST JAN

SHOOT

22ND JAN

LIBRARY

11TH JAN

GATHER INFORMATION

12TH JAN

LIBRARY

13TH JAN

LIBRARY

14TH JAN

RESEARCH INTO DIFFERENT CHURCHES

15TH JAN

VISIT LOCATION

4TH JAN

RESEARCH ON DIFFERENT CHURCHES

5TH JAN

VISIT CHURCHES/ TAKE PHOTOS

6TH JAN

VISIT CHURCHES/ TAKE PHOTOS

7TH JAN

VISIT CHURCHES/ TAKE PHOTOS

8TH JAN

VISIT CHURCHES/ TAKE PHOTOS

 

The table above shows a rough guideline I wish to follow. I started the timetable at the end of the time I am given, therefore I can plan ahead on what I need to be doing, and when I should finish each task that I give myself. This is a very rough timetable, as my research may lead me into different directions, which may provide me venturing out even further. I make sure that I visit different locations and take pictures every week at the beginning of the project; therefore I can get use to my site, as well as gain new and exciting ideas. I also make sure that I show my work to my lecturer, for feedback, or anything I need improving on. I do this in week 4, this is vital, as I can have different opinions of my work, which will give me things to work on and think about. For the days I have told myself to ‘research’ I will be writing my development on a blog. Writing blog posts about my work works very well for me, and its how I like to document my research and development through any projects. I also make sure that my pictures are printed two weeks in advance, to ensure that everything runs smoothly. If anything occurs where I need to reprint, I have time to do so.

OBJECTIVES AND OUTCOMES

From this project I want to gain knowledge on my city, and how it has developed through history. I want to come out of my comfort zone and achieve things I wouldn’t have pushed myself to do prior this assignment. Looking through the learning objectives, I want to achieve them all, to gain a higher grade, and to give me a stronger set of images. I want to gain experience with different photographic equipment and processes. I want my audience to understand my project and gain knowledge on Coventry.

Idea 1 – From this theme, I want my audience to know the different churches in Coventry. I believe that churches are becoming very old fashioned, and may become extinct in the future. With my body of work, I want my audience to take away the feeling of understandment. Churches shouldn’t be neglected, especially when Coventry was well known to be a catholic origin.

Idea 2 – I want my audience to appreciate the beauty of buildings. This theme will allow my audience to witness how buildings can be beautiful in all ways. Up close is how I will be photographing the buildings. Therefore, people will not notice the detailing and textures, which are included in such materials.

 

