201MC – Moda Catwalk Exhibition

This module allows participants to run an Exhibition in whatever style and context we wish. This is something I had not done before so I wanted to make sure I wanted to be involved in an exhibition that I would attend myself. I worked alongside seven other students to create a fashion based exhibition which included a catwalk. This exhibition was called Moda.

SOCAIL MEDIA

As there were eight of us running the exhibition everyone had an allocated role in order to have the development of the planning process run smoothly. I took the role of running social media accounts, as well as odd mini jobs that occurred along the way. Being the face of social media was a very important task. It was my job to ensure that everyone in Coventry knew about our exhibition, and for as many people to see our logo everywhere. I am a fan of many social media accounts so this was no problem for me. I aimed to post as many status’s and tweets as I can a week, which became a struggle at times. However, nearer the date of the event made it easier to post on social media accounts as this was a busier time.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 20.16.29Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 21.59.35

The Facebook event page helped a lot with our planning. It allowed us to see how many people could potentially come, therefore allowing us to plan how many chairs and drinks were needed.

GETTING THE PRESS INVOLVED

Within this role, I emailed many companies to get as much press on board as possible. Companies such as Coventry Radio and Coventry Telegraph etc. Many of which did not get back to me. (the image below shows my email)

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 20.25.11

From running this exhibition I have learnt a lot about what it takes to plan a successful exhibition. I’m never enthusiastic to work with a team in curating a project, however I was very excited. There were many pros and cons within my role that became apparent very quickly. In turn, I worked to overcome the cons and carry on with my head held high. I have defiantly gained many skills that will be enforced in future events that I decided to create.

Within the group, there were many roles which people were allocated. Our team manager (Lily)13016463_10209195934914416_1868222476_o gave each person a job to do per week, and each following Wednesday, we had a group
meeting to ensure that everyone is on top of their jobs. Each week we came together to also find out what needed to be done and who would do each task. This was an active way that we were not forgetting anything and allowed everyone to be doing something with the week.  As well as group meetings, we had a ‘whatsapp’ chat group to make sure we all gathered information quickly.

As well as the whatsapp chat, we had one notebook that Lily kept, which included all the elements from MODA. This book was basically our way of working around everything! We called it our Bible! Even though Lily was the owner of the notebook, it was a place where we could all refer back to and in meetings we could jot down notes which we needed to remember. This book was very important. It was one area that all imformation was held ensuring that all information was not all over the place, but in one spot. Things inside the notebook included,

  • Keeping on track with how much funding we had
  • Contact details of designers/photographers/press/models etc.
  • Email adresses
  • Everyones job titles.
  • What needed to be done each week leading up to he exhibition
  • Ideas we had about the exhibition
  • Plan of the room – where the chairs were placed etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

Alongside the exhibition we needed to engaged the community in our work. We discussed this as a group about what we wanted to do and what would benefit everyone. We invited the photography department from Stratford Collage to come along and visit us. We decided that we wanted them to engage with the work and actually do something instead of giving just a presentation. The first half of the visit we planned to talk about our exhibition. We invited them to the venue, the morning of our exhibition day. This allowed them to actually see the work on the walls. We would walk around the room, talking through each work. For the second part of the visit, we organised a workshop for the group of students. We asked them to bring their own cameras, which they would used for our ‘assignments’ that we gave them. We planned to give them a Mood in which they needed to create in a photograph, with the help of lighting which we would set up for them to use.Bt the end of this, we would give them feedback on their photos and maybe give them tips for the future. By the end of this visit, we wanted the students to go away with more confidence using lighting within photography, and gaining knowledge on how to do so. Lighting is so important in a picture as it can change the whole atmosphere. This was why we wanted them to go away as confident photographers.

As a group we conversed this with Antony, and discussed we believed this was a good opportunity and worth while for the students. Antony made me realise how important it is to involve the community within the exhibition, and this will be continued in future exhibitions. However, the college we invited was on strike, and students were invited voluntarily without the company of their teacher. Only one student attended (to our surprise) but quickly left.

As I took on the role in finding companies which will be willing to advertise and expose our exhibition, I knew it was important to get as much press as possible. As this was a student run project, we worked independently to find people to help us. Such as, photographers, designers, models, press, guests, DJ and host. SnapScope created a promotion video of the event which will be installed below.

Watch “MODA by SnapScope Media” on @Vimeo https://vimeo.com/161283279?ref=tw-share 

As well as people helping us, we had to think of the little things in which makes an event tick. When thinking of a catwalk we thought what would we need and how would we get it.

  • Chairs
  • Stage?
  • Music
  • DJ?
  • Host Speaker
  • Speakers
  • Wine glasses
  • Frames
  • Bin Bags
  • Backstage and front of house helpers

These were just some of the aspects in which we needed to achieve and provide ourselves for the night.

Planning for this exhibition was hard, but in the end rewarding. Like any other catwalk a dress rehearsal took place. This ran relatively smoothly and we were very confident to the opening night. Before the event, we allocated each other jobs such as, back stage help, welcoming people in, making sure lighting equipment was working consistently and clearing away empty glasses. This made the event successful as we were very prepared. There are so many things that I have taken away from this experience which will help me in the future. Here are a list of skills which were obvious to me that I have improved on and still need work on.

Communication – Within my role and at the event, communication was key. I improved in this aspect in so many ways. Writing to companies about the exhibition helped me gain confidence in writing formally and now I am no longer nervous to send an important email. On the night, many press, teachers and guests were asking questions about the event, which sometimes put me in the spot, however I have gained confidence in talking about my own work and I am sure this will help me with public speaking later on in life.

Professional Experience – Prior this event, I hadn’t planned and organised an event that was as big as this one. I have taken away some tips which I can apply when organising an other event such as this one. Although my own photography wasn’t displayed at the exhibition, I was very happy with the work I have put into the event.

Deadline Managing – We had group meetings each Wednesdays which was our deadline for our jobs given to us the Wednesday before. It was important to complete each task in time for Wednesday to stay on top of work, as well as not letting the team down. It has made me a more organised individual, which will enhance my organisation skills in everyday life.

Designing: I helped to design the layout of the exhibition. As a team we knew that almost 150 guests would show up, so we needed enough free space for people to walk around in. We made sure that there was enough room for people to see the catwalk as well ask look at the photography on the walls. I have learnt how to adapt to the space provided which will enable me to conduct better for a future event.

Teamwork: I believe that I have mastered in working as a team to create an event which was successful. At first I hated working in a team as I knew I had to rely on other people. However, I worked with people with the same work ethic and me, so I was very comfortable working with people who I wouldn’t normally work with. This will help me in the future as I am able to get on with work even though I haven’t met the people beforehand. As a photographer I would be working with so many people such as, models, designers, my employer etc, so this has prepared me to be a team leader as well as being part of a team.

 

The following photographs are from planning the event to the opening night itself.

Notes from each group session:

 

Meeting one:

  • What type of exhibition we wanted to do – Catwalk
  • Deciding on what roles were needed to create the exhibition. – social media – funding – venue finding etc.
  • Assigning each role to someone in the group – I was in the social media team

Meeting Two:

  • Contacting potential funding companies. – Play Place gave us £500 sponsorship
  • Naming the exhibition – MODA
  • Discussing possible venues
  • Emailing possible venues

Meeting Three:

  • Shooting for designers which will be showcased at the exhibition
  • Working out how much we need to spend on supplies – alcohol, prints, plastic cups, decoration etc.
  • Getting Fargo as our event venue

Meeting Four:

  • Visiting fargo to see if it is appropriate for the exhibition we wanted to run
  • Discussing price for fargo per day – £50 to hire for the day
  • Making sure we can book fargo for the week of our deadline
  • Booking FArgo!!

Meeting Five:

  • Only Rachel, Lily and I showed up
  • We discussed that we needed to get in contact with the fashion department to get in contact with fashion students who want to showcase their work at our exhibition
  • Making posters

Meeting six:

  • We now have 7 designers on board
  • Recruiting models
  • Making a logo
  • Discuss having  DJ?
  • Putting posters up around Coventry

Meeting seven:

  • Getting Jason Fox to be out DJ for the night – for free
  • We now have enough models
  • Creating templates for the leaflets
  • Making sure everyone is happy with the logo

Meeting eight:

  • Dress rehearsal – only a few models turned up
  • 2 designers dropped out
  • Planning the runway times
  • Finalising final leaflet
  • emailing companies about chair hire

Meeting nine:

  • Finding photographers for the exhibition
  • Getting in contact with companies which can promote our event
  • Putting more posters up around Coventry and University buildings
  • Deciding how much alcohol we want to get
  • Paying chair hire – 50p per chair

Meeting 10:

  • Another dress rehearsal where models can try on their clothes which they will be wearing on the night.
  • Set up lighting at fargo which will be at the event
  • Getting chairs to the venue
  • all models and designers to turn up to dress rehearsal
  • Printing out leaflets

Meeting 11: The day of our deadline

  • Going to fargo in the morning to set up everything
  • put the heating on
  • Get wine glasses
  • setting out the chairs
  • clearing out backstage
  • models hair and makeup
  • group meeting with all models and designers
  • Engaging with the pupils from Stratford college
  • Getting DJ set up
  • Set up lighting

 

 

