Phonor: Task Two

For task two, I have to look back at my assignments which I have in the Findings Workshop. With this there are many steps which I need to take to complete task two. I have copied and pasted the steps in blue, so I could relate what I’m saying to the instructions of the task.

Step 1: Choose one of the assignments we have completed in the Finding Workshop.

It is required of me to carry on with one of the tasks from the Finding Workshop (which I’ve written about in my previous post). I wanted to challenge myself with this task, having group feedback on each assignment from the Finding Workshop has helped me think differently about my images. It has made me realise that I can develop in every assignment I have started with into a larger project. I have decided to follow up on my images from Shawn Records assignment.Here is a reminder of the summarised tweets explaining what this assignment is asking of me.

Using dice. First roll determines quantity. Second is time/distance #phonar2016 #ShawnRecords #PhotographersPlaybook

CgjyM-iWsAAPrsp.jpg-large

The images I made in this project was something I was very proud of and it will allow me to experiment with artitecture, which I found myself enjoying. I loved the concept of allowing a dice to guide you into a location which, as a photographer, you have never been before. It allows you to think about your surroundings and photograph differently to what you are not used to/interested in.

Step 2: Reflecting on the ways in which the assignment could be used to build a more extensive body of work, select one image from the assignment you have chosen, and analyse the components of the image that could lead to the development of a body of work. These can include form (is it horizontal, vertical, digital, film-based, black and white, colour, etc.), content (what is in the images), and concept (what the image could be about).

I have decided to use this image below. This was the image which was shown in class for group feedback, which gave me ideas and inspiration on how I could take this body of work further. I believe there are so many different directions that I could take with this single image, so it would be the perfect starting point. Before I start thinking about the next image I will make, I need to analyse its components to help me gain further ideas on where this image could take me.

final copy

Form: 

  • Portrait Picture
  • Digital
  • Colour – only three colours, red, grey, blue. Will black and white make a less successful image.
  • Taken from an iPhone
  • Take from below looking up

Content:

  • Repetition
  • Negative Space
  • Block of rooms — accommodation
  • Clear Sky
  • Windows Open and Closed
  • Building is level
  • So many lines

Concept:

  • Art of Artitecture
  • Experimenting with lines, colour, shape, negative space
  • Photograph different accommodation buildings in the same way
  • Have a look inside the building – see who lives there

Step 3: Develop it into a 5-8 image body of work that reflects the themes you have explored in your critical analysis.

Before I start taking random pictures, I need to think about where I want to take this assignment. The reason why I took this image was because I was fascinated by its lines and repetitive colours. There are so many elements to artitecture which I now appreciate. Shape, size, structure, role in the urban landscape and historical significance. I never really appreciated artitecture until I attempt to become an artitecture photographer myself. Most buildings do not show as much attraction as the one I took, so maybe this is a direction I could take. Photographing buildings in which aren’t meant to be photographed in the category of artitecture.

Before I begin, I think its necessary to analyse what artitecture photography is as a whole. I came across an article by David Peterson. He explains the key elements to Architecture Photography, which I will analyse here,

  • Fitting the building in the frame:  Peterson explains, it can be very difficult to try and fit a large building in the frame, so trying different angles is vital if you want the whole building in the picture. In my case, I photographed this building standing on the other side of the road. As the dice directed me to take three images in a short space of time, I didn’t have a moment to take my time to look at different ways to capture this one building. Now that I have time to extend this assignment, I can experiment with angles further. 
  • Refection: Peterson highlights that it is more than likely that the building you are photographing has windows. In some cases, windows dominate the building, which can be a good thing. Windows are the perfect way to include reflection in the picture. In my case, the windows are not used for reflection, but is used to highlight the buildings repetitiveness, lines and shapes. To carry on with my image, maybe windows could be the key element which I use for the next photograph.
  • Getting Inside the Building: Peterson also points out that the interior of buildings can be just as interesting to capture. Stairs are the common subject that photographers are more lenient to photograph. It brings a sense of movement and depth to the building. By looking around inside the building, there will be the same components that relate to the outside of the building like the repetitive colours. With the building I have photographed, I have never been inside. So this can be an interesting way to complete this step of task two.

What I can do next: 

  • See if I can access inside the building: From David Peterson’s article he gave me the idea of photographing whats inside the building. I have never been inside this building, however, I know it to be student accommodation. I don’t know what to expect and what I will be photographing, I can only find out by going inside.
  • Look for other buildings which similar components: Coventry is a student based City which means there are many accommodation buildings which I can photograph in the same style. This can be a series of images focusing on the artitecture of Coventry’s student accommodation. I need to find out how many accommodation buildings there are and photograph. I think that sky-rise buildings would work better for this project. This is because I can photograph at the same angle as my beginning picture.

 

I went back to this building which I took from my first shoot. I tried to go inside which was my main initial idea. It went into the reception and they did not allow me to walk around and photograph its interior. I didn’t really know what else to do. So I took a photograph from a different angle of the building from the outside. My plan was from here was to walk back home and decide on what to do next. However, I kept the aspect of using my iPhone. I thought this was an aspect of the assignment I wanted to keep consistent.

akjs

 

So going to the location was not a success. Other than going inside the building, I had the idea of photographing buildings in the same way as I did in the beginning photo. I wanted to use the same content as the beginning photo, as this was an excellent starting point.

  • Lines
  • Shadow
  • Windows
  • Patterns
  • Repetition
  • Minimal colour palette
  • negative space
  • Clear sky

I wanted to start from the beginning. I looked back on the brief and rolled a new set of dices to guide me into a new direction. I didn’t want to start at the same starting point as my first time. This was because I am quite familiar with all locations in the centre of town. I wanted to start with a place where I wasn’t familiar with, but in a crowded city. I decided to travel out of Coventry and go to a place where I hadn’t visited too often, this was Birmingham New Street. From talking to friends who live in Birmingham, I found out that it is a beautiful place with lots of different buildings which I can experiment with, considering form in a picture.  So I downloaded the dice app and used the compass app on the phone and it made me travel three steps right.

The direction the dice took me what not far at all from my starting point. However, while thinking about form and my beginning image, I knew I wanted to experiment with artitecture. I started at the Birmingham Train Station as this was the first building I was in when stepping out of the train from Coventry. I didn’t want to strict myself with having a certain number of images that I have can only take. I didn’t want to also have this one place be a restriction. I looked around and thought of form, lines, patterns, symmetry and repetitiveness, to relate it back to my starting image.

I went to a location which I was not familiar with. Adapting to a new environment is very new to me, however, I did enjoy my experience.  Here are my final images,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From researching into different successful ways in photographing artitecture, I thought about inside the building and outside. I believe these images have worked well and I have overall happy with the result. I have used black and white images to set the main focus on the form. (pattern, lines, repetition and curves)

Content:

  • Windows
  • negative space
  • soft light
  • building has curves
  • repetition of lines and curves
  • white walls

Form:

  • Landscape photographs
  • digital images
  • Taken on a Canon 5D Mark 11
  • different viewpoints – taken from far away, from below

Concept:

  • Artitecture of modern buildings – making this into a bigger body of work can allow me to look into the artitecture of Birmingham – Old and New
  • Something you will find in a building magazine

Critical Analysis 

My series of images which I produce come from the inspiration from my first image by using Shawn Records assignment in The Photographers Playbook. I thought this assignment was something I could really experiment with and tested what I am interested in. I responded to the blue and red building image from my first experience with this task as I thought it was the best out of the three I photographed.  Initially I wanted to look into the narrative of the image. Going inside of the building was something I was interested in, but I had no luck allowing access inside into the original building. Therefore, I started from another starting point, allowing me to photograph at a different location. I wanted to include the components from form to adapt to new themes. I have experimented with a minimalistic and abstract theme, something that I would never consider with my images. These six final images are just a small amount of what can be into a bigger project. With the building I photographed, it was very modern. It could be interesting to experiment with different buildings from different periods of time. This is something I could experiment after the deadline.

This way of thinking about my photos made me more aware of my photographs, and how I go about taking photographs of buildings. In some cases, I believe that a photographs contents with shape and structure make the photograph stronger, so this is what I wanted to experiment with. I purposefully included a lot of sky that was of the same shade of colour in my images, using negative space and making sure the images looked like it was taken in the same time as my first image. Looking back on my images and my shoots, I feel as if I focussed about the structure of the image and less of the narrative. The narrative is left to the observer with these images. I chose buildings at my new location that would complement the structure of the building. I really enjoyed this task. I didn’t expect to have worked with buildings as my subject. This is a new subject for me and now I know that I am very interested in artitcture photography.

 

Peterson, D. (2016). The Key Elements to Architecture Photography. Available: http://www.digital-photo-secrets.com/tip/2746/the-key-elements-to-architecture-photography/. Last accessed 1st May 2016.

