Phonar: Task Five

Step One:

Read your Playbook assignment very thoroughly. Think about how you could summarise it to someone who hasn’t read it (it may be helpful to think about how you would explain it to another photographer). Then tweet a synopsis of the assignment that focuses on the key elements that are guiding the assignment.Think about how your interpretation could allow that person who hasn’t read it to understand it, and even complete it! Be creative with your words, and keep your synopsis under three tweets.



Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 20.38.03

I wrote these tweets without researching into Ron Jude. From my initial response to this task I think of macro photography. Shooting up close to an object to then create a different viewpoint, showing the object as something else. The lie would be to lying about what the photograph is of.

Step Two:

Conduct an investigation into the author of your task. Be thorough. Immerse yourself in learning as much as you can about their life and career. This investigation will be realised with an Instagram post that shares a visual portrait of the author, with some key statements that will enable a reading audience to get some sense of who they are, and what you have discovered about them.

Points on Ron Jude that I have discovered:

  • Born in Los Angeles in 1965
  • Raised in rural Idaho
  • Interested in human interaction on rural land
  • Likes to photograph places he visited when he was a child
  • Discovers and looks back on images he took as a child and when he was a teenager
  • Publications Include:Lago (MACK, London, 2015)

    Lost Home (Super Labo, Tokyo, 2013)

    Fires (RAM/MoCP, Chicago, 2013)

    Executive Model (Libraryman, Stockholm, 2012)

    Lick Creek Line (MACK, London, 2012)

    emmett (The Ice Plant, Los Angeles, 2010)

    Other Nature (The Ice Plant, Los Angeles, 2008)

    Postcards (A-Jump Books, Ithaca, 2006)

    Alpine Star (A-Jump Books, Ithaca, 2006)

  • Executive model is one of my favourites. – in my basket on amazon
  • Hard to get information about what his work is about

This was probably the most hardest aspect of this task.  On Ron’s website, its difficult to understand what his work is about and what he wants to speak to the audience about. So having to create a portrait of him was very difficult. I thought that landscape is very popular in his work so I wanted to point this out to my audience. The Image that I made was to represent what he looks like and also what sort of images he makes. I overlaid his own photography over a portrait of himself.

Portrait of Ron Jude

 

  • Step Three:

Conduct a critical analysis of the author’s work––focus on attaining a sense of how their work may relate to the assignment they have contributed to The Photographer’s Playbook. This critical analysis will be presented in a second Instagram post, with an image you have made in the author’s “style,” that may help illustrate the key points you are making about the work.

This task was challenging. Challenging by the fact that Jude photographs a lot of work that are very different. He likes to photograph locations which links to his childhood, as well as photographing politically. For this step, I thought that I would pick my favourite body of work of his, and create images that could go alongside his photographs, almost like recreating them. His work from his series of images of ‘Executive Model’. This work was produced from 1992 to 1995. “Jude photographs American businessmen in the financial districts of Atlanta, Chicago, New York and San Francisco. Revisiting this amazingly powerful, yet delicate series with a renewed sense of urgency and relevance, the series was published for the first time in book form.” I love this body of work. I believe it truly represents businessmen in all regions of the world. His images put a dull stereotype on business. The following images are Jude’s images for this series,

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 21.12.50

The main thing I notice when viewing this work is that the people in the picture are unidentified. Which is something I am most interested about. It makes me think about who are these people and what do they think about their role in business. Why do they have to dress in the same way? Also, all of the people in this series are men, why did Jude not photograph women? Are these series dated, and not a true representation of this business world today? Anyhow, this is something that I would love to ask Jude in step six (the letter). Another thing that I noticed about this work that he photographs outside the workplace. There isn’t much information about this body of work, so it was difficult to answer the questions I had about this work.

Coming away from this topic. ‘shooting in the style of my artist’. I didn’t want to completely copy these images, so I decided to go into my nearest business known city and photography the buildings which fall under the same category of buildings as Jude’s images. I noticed that Jude’s images of business blocks are taken from below. Showing that the building has importance and significance. This work captures fashion, mood and visual language of the people of business in the early 90’s in America. The components  in the images bring together a certain stereotype of these type of people. The buildings are very dull in colour, they are mostly grey and brown, so this is something I would need to look out for. The building images are very architecturally pleasing. They have a lot of repetition, lines, shapes and structure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, I have happy with the pictures I have produced. I feel as if these images connect to ‘Executive Model’. I had in mind the aim of Jude’s body of work. Representing the business sector how it is outside of the buildings. Showing mood, relationships, and style. I photographed a building in which resembled the ones in Executive Model. As Jude does with his images, I photographed from below, looking up on the building. As well as photographing buildings, I photographed a newspaper which was located just below the building, abandoned by its owner. I thought that this would fall under the category of this work, as I believe it shows the stereotypes of businessmen. This was something extra that I photographed which could be part of a bigger body of work.

 

Step Four:

Photographs that can lie:

  • Experiment with Narrative – lying about the context of the image. Using people/objects
  • Abstract photography: Although I am not allowed to alter the images. Lying as it is not a true representation of the object.
  • Macro Photography – showing an object in a different way. Lying about the photos content. – use form, structure, lines, patterns.
  • Old photographs in with new photographs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Step Five: Critical Rational

This assignment was difficult for me to put into pictures. I wanted to tell a lie which was not relying on people in the photo. In this module, we discussed ‘bad acting’ in photography and this was something I didn’t want to fall under. With the images I have produced I used a Macro lens which was a new style I hadn’t worked with before. Macro photography photographs large objects at a closer viewpoint. The pictures are not a lie in some aspects, but the narrative and the contents shows my audience something that is different to the objects normal appearance. The lie in these images are the form and context. I photographed normal, everyday, and boring objects, and turned them into a pleasing photo.

Abstract photography is something I experimented with which I had no experience prior to the task. I took the inspiration from Jane Thomas, as she uses vibrant colours to enhance her photographs. Overall I am happy with some of the photographs I have taken. I believe it has stretched me to think about how abstract photography stands in photography and what it is about. This type of style is something I feel confident in and I can progress from. However, if I had the chance to I would redo this task. I feel as if I went off track on the aims of Ron Jude’s intentions with this assignment.

Step Six: Communication to Ron Jude

I decided to write a letter to Ron. I thought this would be the most appropriate as his work is very professional. With this letter I used the use of colour to highlight the work that inspired me the most. The image in the background of the picture was from my task three, photographing in the style of Ron Jude. My main inspiration for this letter design was Ron Judes photobook, Executive Model. The colours were very dull in colour, but the cover was orange. Hence why I decided to put the text in orange. I made a white background behind the text and put the opacity down. So that the text is more readable.

Experiment one:

Letter to Ron Jude

Experiment two:

Letter to Ron Jude 2

Experiment three:

Letter to Ron Jude 3

 

I decided to use my Experiment three. I thought this was the best way to show my interpretation of Ron’s work, as well as having my text shown.

http://www.libraryman.se/ron-jude-executive-model/

